RJ Harber is an experienced Dallas DWI Attorney that has been working in Dallas/Tarrant county as a criminal defense lawyer for more than a decade. When receiving a DWI in Texas, it is important to find a DWI lawyer as soon as possible. By hiring an experienced DWI attorney such as RJ Harber, you are ensuring that your case will be handled properly. RJ Harber is extremely well-versed in Dallas DWI Law and has the knowledge to make sure his client is getting the best representation.
Find out how the Law Offices of RJ Harber can help you in your DWI case by calling and scheduling a free case consultation. We are here to help get you back on your feet as soon as possible. Call us at: (214) 389-1189
DWI is a law offense of operating a vehicle after having drank enough alcohol to raise your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above the legal limit. Your BAC must not be over .08 if you want to legally operate a motor vehicle. If you do, consequences could include fines up to $2,000, license suspension, criminal charges, and even jail for up to 180 days (for first time offenders). Dallas being one of the busiest cities, not only Texas, but in the US as a whole, is unsurprisingly, one of the top ranking cities in the country for DWI arrests.
An ALR hearing is extremely important when fighting a DWI if you want to keep your license. By requesting an ALR hearing, you are basically forcing the DPS to prove their case against you.
If you are convicted or you plee guilty to a DWI, the courts can grant you probation as an alternative to jail or prison up to two years for a misdemeanor and up to ten years for a felony. Learn more about how you can reduce this penalty.
Do you really need a way to drive? Here at the Law offices of RJ Harber, we could help you obtain an ODL or occupational drivers license. Our law office will make this complicated process as easy as possible for you.
Texas Transportation Code section 550.021 states that the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in the injury or death of another must stop at, close to the scene, or immediately return if unable to stop.
(FSGI) is also known as a hit and run. A hit and run is when you are involved in an accident and fail to stop at the scene, give your name, give your insurance information, and/or possibly give assistance if needed; resulting in damages to a vehicle of $200 or more. If convicted, Class B misdemeanor penalties for this offense include 180 days in jail and/or fines up to $2,000.
(FSRA) is another very serious offense. FSRA is very similar to FSGI. In Chapter 550 of the Texas Transportation Code, Subchapter B. Duties Following Accident, S 550.021. Accident Involving Personal Injury or Death, states that the operator of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of a person shall:
An operator of a vehicle required to stop the vehicle by Subsection (a) shall do so without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
(c) A person commits an offense if the person does not stop or does not comply with the requirements of this section. An offense under this section is punishable by:
(1) imprisonment in the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice for not more than five years or confinement in the county jail for not more than one year;
(2) a fine not to exceed $5,000; or
(3) both the fine and the imprisonment or confinement.
The implication of this offense could either be a misdemeanor or a felony. If someone died or suffered any injury due to the vehicle accident will determine which offense the crime will be.