As described in the Texas penal code, theft means (a) A person commits an offense if he unlawfully appropriates property with intent to deprive the owner of property. Deprive is described as (A) to withhold property from the owner permanently or for so extended a period of time that a major portion of the value or enjoyment of the property is lost to the owner; (B) to restore property only upon payment of reward or other compensation; or (C) to dispose of property in a manner that makes recovery of the property by the owner unlikely.
Property is defined as tangible or intangible personal property including anything severed from land; or a document, including money, that represents or embodies anything of value.
|Value of Property||Offense||Fine||Jail|
|less than $50.00||Class C Misdemeanor||$500.00 or less||No jail time|
|$50.00 up to less than $500.00||Class B Misdemeanor||Up to $2,000.00||No more than 180 days|
|$500.00 up to less than $15,000.00||Class A Misdemeanor||Up to $4,000.00||No more than 1 year|
|$1,500.00 up to less than $20,000||State Jail Felony||Up to $10,000.00||180 days to 2 years|
|$20,000.00 up to less than $100,000||Third Degree Felony||Up to $10,000.00||2 years to 10 years|
|$100,000.00 up to less than $200,000||Second Degree Felony||Up to $10,000.00||2 years to 20 years|
|$200,000.00 or more||First Degree Felony||Up to $10,000.00||5 years to 99 years|
In Texas, burglary is defined as unlawfully entering or remaining in any structure (public or private) with the intent to commit a felony, theft, or assault inside. Burglary is punishable for up to two years or even twenty years in prison if it is a second degree felony. In addition, fines can be as high as $10,000.00.
Unauthorized use of a vehicle (or car theft ) is defined in Texas as A person commits an offense if he intentionally or knowingly operates another’s boat, airplane, or motor-propelled vehicle without the effective consent of the owner. (b) An offense under this section is a state jail felony.